Life long sharing . . .

Some thoughts about Dyslexia

Posted on: January 27, 2016

Lee Kuan Yew was diagnosed with dyslexia at the age of 62 if I am not mistaken. By that time, he had mastered English, Malay, Chinese and Japanese.

Now, read this:

I went through life and I overcame it. When I did a course on speed reading and I did not succeed, not because I was stupid because I usually have to run my eye back, make sure that I got the right word. That slows me down, but because I read more slowly, I read only once and it sticks, so there are compensations. The important thing is, not to be discouraged and feel that I am disabled, no! Leonardo da Vinci was dyslexic, so what? He was a great artist, sculptor, painter, thinker… so. I’m not comparing myself to him. But if he can overcome dyslexia… fortunately, I overcame it without my knowing it…

– Mr. Lee Kuan Yew on his dyslexia

Get the message from the last sentence: “I overcame it without my knowing it…” ?

My conclusion: forget about those scientific/medical terms, focus on solving the problem, figure out ways to overcome it. You  might be slow, but you will get to it.

 

Leave a Reply

Archives

January 2016
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 180 other followers

