Life long sharing . . .

“The Monk who Sold His Ferrari” – my note

Posted on: October 21, 2015

This is one of the books with a lot of dog ears in my book shelf.

monk_ferrari

Re-read it again yesterday, and decided to keep some of the good sharing from this monk here, so I can access them easily, especially on days when I am down, or lost; though I keep the book just beside my bed.

Start with bad thoughts:

bad_thoughts

And to make it a habit, always remember The Magic Rule of 21:

habit

I like this explanation of human-spirit relationship. It calms my heart,…

humanexperience

and life is about learning lesson… (it reminded me of Andrew Matthew’s Life goes like this. We get hit by little pebbles – as a kind of warning. When we ignore the pebbles, we get hit by a brick. Ignore the brick and we get wiped out by a boulder.  If we’re honest, we can see where we have ignored the warning signs.

lesson

And repeat this mantra when I felt defeated, need some courage:

mantra

Of being noble and judgmental (ya, if you know me, you know how I detest the attitude ‘I am better/superior than thou‘)

noble

and yes, about conscience,

conscience

Then these principles of life “industry, compassion, humility, patience, honesty and courage“. It reminded me of Lao Zi’s teaching: 仁义礼智信. Ain’t they similar?

simple

And seems like some similarity in Buddhism teaching: random act of kindness. The most important thing I learn from the book, when practicing kindness “Stop seeing yourself purely as an individual and start seeing yourself as part of the COLLECTIVE“.

help

help2

Lastly, learn to live in the moment. Remember the story of “Peter and the Magic Thread”.

Leave a Reply

Archives

October 2015
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 180 other followers

