Life long sharing . . .

“Scholastic Success with Reading Comprehension”

Posted on: July 7, 2014

I am always thrilled to know some other parents recommend the same book I am using, I mean I bought for my kids to use. Here is one that I shared the same view with one parent I met in FB, it’s a good book for reading and comprehension. As I mentioned in one of my older post, I always prefer books from foreign publication when comes to English comprehension books. So that my girls get to know things in other countries while reading the short passage, new knowledge learnt.

One of them is this one, by Scholastic USA, and it is ‘Correlated to State Standard’.

more0001

 

The passages and questions are arranged in a way to achieve comprehension skills like identifying main ideas, drawing conclusion, analysing characters, identifying fact or opinion …etc.

For example, I like this passage introducing the Sioux tribe.

more0002

And this one. I like how it teaches the skill ‘using context clue’ through this passage written in Wild Wild West ‘slang’. It’s followed by an exercise where students are asked to guess the meaning of those words in bold.

more0003

 

more0004

And for the following, it teaches children how to identify fact and opinion, (“facts” – can be proven; “opinions” – some people thoughts of how good the product is or how it will make you feel) through advertisements. I personally think this is quite educational too.

more0005

Leave a Reply

Archives

July 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 180 other followers

