Life long sharing . . .

Common Errors in Pupils’ English

Posted on: April 23, 2013

When recuperating at home after surgery, on medical leaves, I was so bored that I ‘gobbled’ up almost all the books I could get hold of, including this one: ‘Common Errors in Pupils’ English’. And guess what, I learnt a lot. They are not just errors in pupils’ English, I made those mistake also. Ya, Chinese saying, “活到老,学到老”。

common_errors

 

Below is the content/topics covered in this book.

ce_content

 

I like some of the topics covered a lot. For example, Unit 4 Redundancies: Not right to say ‘In actual fact’ and ‘Free gift’ (ya, the latter one is classic. You can hear it everywhere.)

ce_redundant1

 

ce_redundant2

 

And the chapter “Unit 5 : One word or Two words” is also very interesting. And I like the way they explain it in picture. Ling flipped through some of the pages and she said she like it too. Her comment: Easy to understand.

ce_one_or_two1

ce_one_or_two2

ce_one_or_two4

ce_one_or_two3

 

And then, in “Unit 9 Nouns – Singular or Plural”, I believe these two are quite common being used wrongly:

ce_singular_plural1

 

ce_singular_plural2

 

And also one topic in “Unit 10 Punctuation”, one error which I always made, is when writing about speech:

ce_punctuation

 

Lastly, the below two are also something very common, even in adults, definitely in my English. I like to use ‘and’ a lot to continue talking and talking and talking.. pai sei pai sei…

common_errors2

 

common_errors1

 

At the end of each unit, there are some revision exercises, and Ling is very tempted to try it.

IMHO, this book is a good read for Upper Primary students.

4 Responses to "Common Errors in Pupils’ English"

IMHO means??

IMHO = in my honest opinion 🙂

In my humble opinion

This is an useful book 🙂

Leave a Reply

Archives

April 2013
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 181 other followers

