Life long sharing . . .

Archive for April 23rd, 2013

Today Ying came home sad, telling me that “Teacher said, I cannot memorize my nursery rhyme and my voice is too soft, so I cannot take part in the Nursery Rhyme contest.”

Well, I know Ying well. She always becomes super-the-duple shy on stage, since her Yamaha JMC time. She can perform well, just that during the self introduction part, her voice will turn to as soft as mouse squeak.

“Teacher has chosen another boy and girl for the contest,” Ying continued.

“It’s ok. So next time you must remember to prepare and memorize your nursery rhyme. And also, must speak louder. Mummy has taught you before right ? ”

“But it’s because no one ask me to practise. 姐姐didn’t ask me to practise…”

“No, you should ask yourself to practise. You can ask people to help, but cannot blame other for not asking you to practise. When you show me the nursery rhyme your teacher chose for you, I have reminded you to practise, right?”

Sorry dear, Mummy might sound a bit ‘cold hearted’, but Mummy really don’t wants you to have the habit of blaming others when things went wrong. You must be brave to face your mistake.

And sorry again, these few weeks Mummy was so occupied with the extra tuition and AGM thingy, Mummy also forgot to remind you again.

After lunch, seeing Ling practising her nursery rhyme, Ying also wanted to join. I let her recite together with her sister.

“It’s good also, you practise now so that next year you can try again,” I told her.

“Ya, and if any of your classmates cannot do it, you can tell teacher that you want to try again.” Ling gave her advice.

“Ya, you must be brave enough to tell your teacher, and also, this time, must read out loud in front oo… ” I added.

“And girls, remember, to Mummy, as long as you step out and present your nursery rhyme on stage, you already win. Whether at the end you win a prize or not, it’s not important to Mummy.”

“No no, there is no stage. Just a flat place, where all the students sit on the floor, and we stand in front to read our nursery rhyme.” Ling quickly corrected me.

I smiled 😀 Mummy just hopes you two get my message.

When recuperating at home after surgery, on medical leaves, I was so bored that I ‘gobbled’ up almost all the books I could get hold of, including this one: ‘Common Errors in Pupils’ English’. And guess what, I learnt a lot. They are not just errors in pupils’ English, I made those mistake also. Ya, Chinese saying, “活到老,学到老”。

common_errors

 

Below is the content/topics covered in this book.

ce_content

 

I like some of the topics covered a lot. For example, Unit 4 Redundancies: Not right to say ‘In actual fact’ and ‘Free gift’ (ya, the latter one is classic. You can hear it everywhere.)

ce_redundant1

 

ce_redundant2

 

And the chapter “Unit 5 : One word or Two words” is also very interesting. And I like the way they explain it in picture. Ling flipped through some of the pages and she said she like it too. Her comment: Easy to understand.

ce_one_or_two1

ce_one_or_two2

ce_one_or_two4

ce_one_or_two3

 

And then, in “Unit 9 Nouns – Singular or Plural”, I believe these two are quite common being used wrongly:

ce_singular_plural1

 

ce_singular_plural2

 

And also one topic in “Unit 10 Punctuation”, one error which I always made, is when writing about speech:

ce_punctuation

 

Lastly, the below two are also something very common, even in adults, definitely in my English. I like to use ‘and’ a lot to continue talking and talking and talking.. pai sei pai sei…

common_errors2

 

common_errors1

 

At the end of each unit, there are some revision exercises, and Ling is very tempted to try it.

IMHO, this book is a good read for Upper Primary students.


Archives

April 2013
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 180 other followers